NPL Sports Club Annual General Meeting, 2016 Monday 09 May 2016 at 7:30 pm

Agenda

Martin Wicks welcomed those present to the meeting and introduced NPL Director Dr Peter Thompson as President elect.

1. Apologies for Absence.

Jim Robinson (NPL Corporate member),

2. Minutes of the 2015 AGM.

The minutes were accepted as an accurate record and signed accordingly by the Chairman.

3. Matters Arising from the Minutes.

None.

4. Report of the Main Committee 2015/2016.

Martin Wicks, Chairman of the Sports Club, presented the Committee's Annual Report. Those present were given the opportunity to review the document

Martin then invited any comments or discussion on the Annual Report.

James Cranston queried the membership figure for junior tennis, showing as "n/a" as opposed to 71 the previous year. This suggested that the club now had no youth members. Membership Secretary Mychael Whilton confirmed that this was an anomaly due to lack of detailed information rather than suggesting that there were no junior members. This related to the way that membership was accredited between NPLSC and Tennis England. Ann Kibble confirmed that the junior members were full members of NPLSC, but not of the tennis section itself.

Andrew Hanson congratulated Martin for ensuring that the report was available on time.

In response to a request from those present, it was also agreed that if possible the report should be circulated in advance of the meeting in future years, rather than tabled at the meeting. This would allow the report to be considered in a more timely manner, and any questions or comments considered.

Propose Acceptance of Annual report	Seconded	Adopted by meeting
Martin Wicks	Yes	Yes

5. Election of President and Vice-Presidents.

MARTIN WICKS proposed that NPL Director Dr Peter Thompson be elected as President and Dennis Yates as Vice President.

Propose Dr Peter Thompson for Presidency for forthcoming year	Seconded	Adopted by meeting
Martin Wicks	Yes	Yes

Propose Dennis Yates for Vice	Seconded	Adopted
Presidency for forthcoming year		by meeting
Martin Wicks	Yes	Yes

6. Constitution of the New Main Committee.

MARTIN WICKS advised the meeting of the Main Committee nominees and confirmed that according to club rules roughly half of the committee are re-elected each year for a 2 year term. Nominations must reach the Secretary at least ten days before the date of the AGM, and voting is only required should there be more nominees than vacancies in the committee. Election is to the Committee, not to specific posts.

There being 6 vacancies, and 5 nominees, the following are automatically proposed to join the main Committee for the next two years: Andy Wain, Chris Lewis, Mychael Whilton, Peter Taylor and Zoe McLeod.

They join the existing 10 committee members who have one year remaining to serve: Adrian Luckins, Alex Petrou, Antony Weir, Chris Gallifent, James Cranston, Pat McLoughlin, Steven Bates, Tom Gardner, Tony Crabtree and Will Palmer.

The Committee also has representatives from each of the playing sections. The following have been proposed by their respective sections:-

Bowls	Tony Hartland	Hockey	Harry Mann
Ladies Bowls	Anne Kibble	Table Tennis	George Symm
Cricket	Chris Churchman	Tennis	Campbell Brown
Football	Nigel Irwin	Youth Football	Steve Peake

There is also representation on the Main Committee by Rod West of MINERVA SSA and Nick Rothwell of Newland House School

Propose above nominees as MC officers for 2 years and	Seconded	Adopted
section reps for forthcoming year		by meeting
Martin Wicks	Yes	Yes*

N.B.* Martin was asked whether he could confirm that all those proposed as members were current club members, as required by the constitution. As this information was not available to the meeting, the approval of the meeting must be conditional upon membership status being confirmed to the Secretary.

7. Election of Auditors.

Peter Thompson called for nominations for auditors. Martin Wicks proposed Sarah Hayter to audit the Club Accounts.

Propose above nominees Auditors	Seconded	Adopted by meeting
Martin Wicks	Yes	Yes

8. Presentation of the Stanton Trophy and Associated Cups.

Peter Thompson the presented the individual event trophies to the various winners of the individual competitions as set out in the annual report. He also presented the Stanton Trophy to the overall winner.

9. Any Other Business.

Nominations were invited to act as election scrutineers. Andrew Hanson and Elizabeth Nicol were proposed and seconded as scrutineers, and confirmed by those present.

The appointment credentials of Zoe as club marketing and development strategy lead were queried. In response, Zoe confirmed her lengthy membership of NPLSC for both tennis and hockey sections, and her relevant experience both in work and in public office. Martin confirmed that the individual in question had expressed an interest and the appointment had been approved and endorsed by the out-going Committee. This was proper and appropriate. The new Committee would decide on future arrangements.

Chris Churchman raised the issue of the recent consultation exercise and the availability of the associated report. Martin confirmed that this should be available in early June. That should allow Committee members to consider it in advance of the next scheduled meeting.

Andrew Hanson advised that groundsman Sean Cummings had been nominated for a "Grass Roots" award. The meeting extended congratulations to Sean.

Martin Wicks then proposed a vote of thanks to the new Chairman, Peter Thompson. Peter also formally proposed a vote of thanks on Martin's retirement for his many years of dedicated service as both Committee member and Chair, and asked that this be recorded in the minutes. Both motions were passed.

The meeting was then declared closed.